Stay Connected With Us

Need more help? Email: enquiries@kingsuniversity.edu.ng Or Call: +2348150846566, +2349030743744, +2348150846574

The University Governing Council

The Board of Trustees will appoint the Governing Council. The proposed University Council shall be the governing body of the University and shall be charged with the general control and superintendence of the policy, finance and property of the University, including its public relations.

It is the official employer of all staff and shall meet at least three times in every calendar year. It shall make statutes for the organization, policy, structure, powers, development, financing, responsibilities and general management to facilitate the carrying on of the objectives, functions and activities of the proposed University. It shall acquire landed and other forms of property for the use of the proposed University.

The Governing Council will play a vital role in setting the strategic direction for the proposed University and will work closely with the Management team for its achievement.


The Governing Council will consist of the following:

  1. The Pro-Chancellor shall be the Chairman of Council;
  2. The Vice-Chancellor;
  3. The Deputy Vice-Chancellor;
  4. Three (3) nominees of the Proprietor including a woman;
  5. Four (4) members representing Senate;
  6. Two (2) members representing the Congregation (one each from academic and non-academic staff);
  7. One (1) member representing the Convocation;
  8. One (1) member representing the Alumni Association;
  9. One (1) member representing the National Universities Commission;
  10. One (1) representative of Osun State Ministry of Education; and
  11. One (1) representative of Ode-Omu Community.

The Registrar shall be Secretary to Council. 
The University Librarian and Bursar shall be in attendance.

Quorum shall be nine (9). In any circumstance when the Pro-Chancellor will be absent, he shall delegate his duty to any member of Council in writing who shall preside over a meeting of the Council.

Any member of the Council holding office (except the Pro-Chancellor, Vice-Chancellor, and Deputy Vice-Chancellor) may, by notice to the Council, resign his office. A member of the Council holding office (except the Pro-Chancellor, Vice-Chancellor, and Deputy Vice-Chancellor) shall, unless he previously vacates it, vacate that office on the expiration of the period of four years.

Where a member of the Council holding office (except the Pro-Chancellor, Vice-Chancellor, and Deputy Vice-Chancellor) vacates office before the expiration of the period aforesaid, the body or person by whom he was appointed may appoint a successor to hold office for the residue of the term of his predecessor. A person ceasing to hold office as a member of the Council otherwise than by removal or misconduct shall be eligible for re-appointment for only one further period of four years.

Specifically, the responsibilities of the Council are to:
a) Determine the proposed University’s educational character, mission and strategic vision, its long-term business plans, annual budgets, key performance indicators (KPIs), and ensure that these meet the interest of stakeholders;
b) ensure the establishment and monitoring of systems of control and accountability, including financial and operational controls and risk assessment, clear procedures for handling internal grievances and for managing conflicts of interest;
c) monitor institutional performance against plans and approved KPIs, which wherever possible and appropriate, are benchmarked against other comparable higher education institutions;
d) establish instruments for effective and efficient use of resources, the solvency of the proposed University and safeguarding its assets;
e) appoint all the Principal Officers and Other Staff of the proposed University except the Vice-Chancellor;
f) set a framework for the pay and conditions of service for all staff;
g) approve procedures relating to suspension and dismissal of staff and staff grievance procedures;
h) Maintain accounts and appoint auditors.

Major Committees of Council
The Council will operate through the committee system. The following shall be the main Committees of Council:
i. Finance and General Purposes Committee.
ii. Appointments, Promotions and Disciplinary Committee.
iii. Tenders Board.
iv. Fund-Raising Committee.
v. Committee on Security.
Other committees may be established as the Council may deem fit.